Much Needed Encouragement

Hello again friends! It’s been almost a week since my last post, so I was really feeling like I needed to get on here and do some thinking, which is really all this is.  As things come into my life, I think about them, and if I can’t stop thinking about them, I get on here and type out my thoughts! (That’s probably why some stuff on here doesn’t make much sense =P)

When I got up this morning, I was in a bad mood.  I didn’t sleep well last night (the results of taking a 4 hour nap during the day…oops!), and when I woke up I was just really bummed.  My friends had gone to Boulder, so I was pretty much stuck up at school for the day.  I thought, “I’ll just go read my bible and that will put me in a better mood!”…well, I went to read my bible, but I was completely unfocused in mind and heart and didn’t really get anything out of it.  I was reading the words on the page, but because of my distraction, they weren’t anything more than that.  So I came back to my room and was sitting on my bed wallowing in self-pity, complaining to Anna about how bored I was, and how unsuccessful my morning reading of the bible had gone. Well, being the beautiful and amazing girlfriend that she is, Anna gave me a verbal slap on the back of the head and said “try again. Pray and refocus your mind and try again.”  And me, being the (at times) selfish person I am, didn’t want to do that.  But prior to that, she gave me a bunch of ideas of things to do, one of which was to go over to the Snyder family‘s house and hangout with them, which is always fun.  So as I was walking over to their house, I got another text from Anna that said “make the best of your time. give thanks in all circumstances.”  That was exactly what I needed to hear.

I got to the Snyder house and was welcomed in by their youngest daughter, who immediately instructed me not to touch the heater because, well, it was hot (amazing how logical 2 and a half year olds are), and she didn’t want me to break it.  I was then offered coffee and toast, and got to sit and have breakfast with them, an experience I will never forget.  The youngest Snyder girl talked my ear off about bugs, and how helpful ladybugs are to farmers, while other bugs aren’t as helpful because they eat stuff.  Haha I couldn’t help but laugh and be encouraged by the conversation. I realized that while other people were struggling to find food and shelter, God had blessed me with the opportunity to talk bugs with the Snyder girls!

Immediately I stopped and begin giving thanks to God for the blessings He has seen fit to give me, and took Anna’s advice, making the most of my time.  I sat with Erik and talked about life while I drank my coffee and listened to the girls laughing and playing.  It’s amazing how much you can learn from children. I was reminded of how joyful life really is, and how much Christ loves us as Camille (the youngest of the Snyder girls) yelled (her usual means of communication) “Jesus is alive!”  Wow. I was getting schooled by a two and a half year old in what it means to celebrate life through Jesus.

It amazes me how God works things out in all areas of life.  In my relationship with Anna, my relationship with friends, and my relationship with Him.  Things work out much better when I just sit back and let Him do the heavy lifting, instead of interfering.  I was very discouraged, so God led me to the Snyder house for some much needed encouragement.  If you asked him, Erik would claim to be wise.  He would say that he is just living in Christ and offering advice from the experiences God has given him.  We talked a lot about our parents, marriage, what it looks like to have a God centered relationship, and how to put faith and trust in Christ to be the provider for your family.  When I left their house (it was nap time), I couldn’t believe how much my attitude had been changed by the amazing conversation and laughter with the Snyders.

When things don’t go my way, I tend to get frustrated and disappointed, as I talked about in my last post.  So this morning, when I got up and realized I had nothing to do today, which is rarely fun, I got frustrated and bitter.  So when I read my bible, I wasn’t even interested in being open to hear God’s voice.  It took the loving slap in the back of the head from Anna to jump start me into realizing that I had nothing to be mad at.  Paul says in 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18, “Rejoice always; pray without ceasing; in everything give thanks, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”  It’s amazing what can happen when you do these things, and live in God’s will for your life.  Our guest lecturers said this week (Joe Urcavich and Colonel David Neetz) that God’s will for our lives is not an action as we tend to think of it, it is the way in which we live.  When we live in God’s will, we are able to simply do what we want, because when God is our focus we will want to do what He wants us to do.

I am so thankful for the people God has placed in my life as encouragements.  It it weren’t for Anna and the Snyders, my day would not have been the day that it has become: A day of thankfulness.

About isaacshoman

Hmmmm what to say. I'm a 21 year old child from Portland, OR. I have an amazing family, go to an amazing church (Imago Dei Community Church), and am constantly being blessed by God. For some reason He has decided to give me all of these amazing things, I'm still trying to figure out why exactly. I'm currently attending Ravencrest Chalet Bible School (part of Torchbearers International) in the beautiful, beautiful, beautiful town of Estes Park, Colorado. What a place to study God's word! Surrounded by these beautiful mountains I am constantly reminded of Psalm 121:1-2 which reads, "I will lift my eyes up to the mountains; from where shall my help come? My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth." I'm excited to start this blog, and hope that God will use my babble to speak to those that decide to take the time to read it. View all posts by isaacshoman

Leave a Reply

