On the Hill with God

After listening to the sermon on the Sabbath (Matt. 12:1-21; found here), I thought I would take advantage of the beautiful day yesterday and go on a short hike up to the top of Pole Hill (the hill that my school is on) and spend some quality time in the Word.  As a side note, on my way up I couldn’t help thinking, “I wonder what Moses felt like, being 80+ and having to keep hiking up and down Mt. Sinai?”  I mean, I’m 21, and granted I’m not in the best shape of my life (far from it), but come on…God couldn’t just let him go half way up or so?

But anyways, I was up there, and was amazed at the view!  I was perched at the highest point on Pole Hill, and could see every one of the many surrounding mountains.  All of them covered with snow and glistening under the illumination of the sun.  Before I started reading I was in awe that the same God who created all of these mountains made me as well.  And not only that, but that God views us as his MASTERPIECE! He breathed His life into us at the creation of man, and we were made in His image, and He saw that we were good.  Yes, the mountains are beautiful, and God loves His creation as well, but we are his most loved creation.  And He loved us so much that He send His Son to die for us.  2 Corinthians 5:21 says that “He made Him who knew no sin to be sin on our behalf, so that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.”  How awesome is that?!  Christ sacrificed His rightful throne in heaven to become a man and suffer and die for each one of us, with the goal of presenting us as righteous before God.  It’s hard to fully wrap our human minds around it, and we probably never will, but that doesn’t really matter.  What matters is that we take advantage of this amazing gift that has been given to us, and live our lives to glorify Him.

I was reading in Romans 5, and was confronted with how much God truly loves us. Verses 6-11 read:

6For while we were still helpless, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly.  7For one will hardly die for a righteous man; though perhaps for the good man someone would dare even to die.  8But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.  9Much more then, having now been justified by His blood, we shall be saved from the wrath of God through Him.  10For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God through the death of His son, much more, having been reconciled, we shall be saved by His life.  11And not only this, but we also exult in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through who we have now received the reconciliation.”

Can you believe that?! Just look at the love of Christ in these verses!  Before Christ died for us, we (the human race) were helpless, so God sent Christ to die for us at His perfect time.  Then Paul basically says “Nobody would want to die for a righteous man, but I guess someone might think about dying for a good man, but Christ died for us while were still His enemies!”  Would you die for your “enemy”? I know we don’t have enemies like they used to have in the medieval days, but think of someone you really really don’t like…would you die for them?  What Christ did for us is beyond words.  And not only did He reconcile us with Him while we were His enemies, but now we shall be saved by His life (verse 10).

What I believe Paul to be saying is this, “You can’t do it.  You never could.  But Christ died for you to make you righteous.  So just live for Him and let Him bless you through His life.”  So be joyful!!! God loves you! Christ died for you to express that love, and now it is up to us to live into the story of Christ, and, through faith in Him, live life as we were created to.

 

Questions? Comments? Feel free to email me, or post a comment at the bottom.

About isaacshoman

Hmmmm what to say. I'm a 21 year old child from Portland, OR. I have an amazing family, go to an amazing church (Imago Dei Community Church), and am constantly being blessed by God. For some reason He has decided to give me all of these amazing things, I'm still trying to figure out why exactly. I'm currently attending Ravencrest Chalet Bible School (part of Torchbearers International) in the beautiful, beautiful, beautiful town of Estes Park, Colorado. What a place to study God's word! Surrounded by these beautiful mountains I am constantly reminded of Psalm 121:1-2 which reads, "I will lift my eyes up to the mountains; from where shall my help come? My help comes from the Lord, Who made heaven and earth." I'm excited to start this blog, and hope that God will use my babble to speak to those that decide to take the time to read it. View all posts by isaacshoman

One response to “On the Hill with God

Leave a Reply

